tcchase11It seems only fitting that I write this, my first ever Blog post, during December, as the  Holiday Season descends upon us.  It was four years ago this month that life arranged itself such that what was a part time “hobby” became my full time career.  As we approach this Holiday Season it gives me a chance to  reflect, with great gratitude, on the many gifts T’ai Chi has given me.

To my friend and teacher, Master Waysun Liao,  I owe a debt that can never be repaid.  Without his example, guidance and nurturing this lifestyle I enjoy would not have become possible.  The many people who have attended classes through the years, many staying to become fellow students as well as friends, have seemingly taught me more than I could ever pass along to them.

To paraphrase an old comedy line…..”T’ai Chi been bery, bery good to me”.

I’d love to hear from anyone out there who shares that outlook or who wants to learn how to find that in their own life.  T’ai Chi is, among other things, a search for a lifestyle that can support us in getting what we want.

The main news of this post is to announce two new T’ai Chi classes that will be starting after the first of the year.  These new classes will be held at the Chicago High School for Agricultural Science at 111th and Pulaski, Chicago.   This is a new venue for classes on the South Side and the potential for a long term relationship with them, providing a place to advance our T’ai Chi skills, is exciting to consider.  The first class begins Saturday, January 3rd, at 9:30 am.  The second will start on Wednesday evening, January 7th, at 7:30 pm.  The cost for each class is $10 a session, with discounts available for students and seniors.  For those of you familiar with my teaching you know we spend a lot of time on single form practice and chi cultivation.  These new classes  will  give a chance to add some intensive two-person practice, long form work and, who knows, maybe even a little T’ai Chi sword play along the way. 

My intent with this blog is to post at least weekly with some pertinent T’ai Chi idea, link suggestion, etc.  Please check back from time to time to see what we have.  In the meantime, I’d love to hear from you.

With much appreciation for all gifts received,

Paul

